The SBA San Diego District Office recently announced its 2018 Small Business Week Award recipients.  Hera Hub Founder, Felena Hanson will receive the District Director’s Award for Growth through Licensing Agreements

Less than one year after opening up its first international location in Sweden, female-focused coworking space, Hera Hub, has signed a new licensee for a location in Atlanta Georgia. Hera Hub Atlanta will be the Southern California-based company’s eighth location in the U.S., which will further Hera Hub’s mission of supporting over 20,000 women in the launch and growth of their business by 2020.

“As America celebrates the 55th Anniversary of Small Business Week, this is an excellent opportunity to honor the small businesses that have helped make our nation great,” says SBA San Diego District Director Ruben Garcia. “SBA has helped well over 30 million Americans start, manage and grow their businesses, placing tens of billions of dollars in loans into the hands of entrepreneurs in all sectors of the economy.”

Business organizations, lending institutions, chambers of commerce and trade associations typically nominate candidates.  A panel is convened at the San Diego District Office to review local nominations and select a winner in each of the categories.

National Small Business Week 2018

Photo by

This year’s Small Business Awards Luncheon, presented by SBA, the North San Diego Small Business Development Center and the MiraCosta College Foundation, will be held Thursday, May 3,
2018, 11:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., at the San Diego Marriott, 4240 La Jolla Village Drive, La Jolla, California, to publicly honor our local small business owners and advocates. Individual seats cost $99. Register at:

Every year since 1963 SBA takes the opportunity to highlight the impact of outstanding entrepreneurs, small business owners, and others from across the nation through National Small Business Week. SBA will honor America’s top entrepreneurs at this year’s National Small Business Week events during the week of April 29 – May 5, 2018.

For a list of all reward recipients click here.

NOTE: Detailed information for each small business winner is available and interviews may be requested. Please call Cynthia Harris, SBA, at (619) 727-4884 or email your request to